My Struggle with Prayer

Posted: February 24, 2012 by Ryan Vincent in Prayer

As many of you are aware, prayer is a difficult thing for me. I struggle with it on both spiritual and intellectual levels, and I hate that I feel that way. This article really helped me see it in a different light. I even think it has some value for those of you that don’t struggle.

Lesson One in Prayer by Peter Kreeft

Some excerpts:

How to do it is less important than just doing it. Less-than-perfect prayer is infinitely better than no prayer; more perfect prayer is only finitely better than less perfect prayer.”

“The only effective answer to that excuse, I find, is a kind of murder. You have to kill something, you have to say no to something else, in order to make time to pray. Of course, you will never find time to pray, you have to make time to pray. And that means unmaking something else. The only way to install the tenant of prayer in the apartment building of your life is to evict some other tenant from those premises that prayer will occupy. Few of us have any empty rooms available.

Deciding to do that is the first thing. And you probably won’t decide to do it, only wish to do it, unless you see prayer for what it is: a matter of life or death, your lifeline to God, to life itself.

Is this exaggerated? Are there more important things? Love, for instance? We need love absolutely; but the love we need is agape, the love that only God has and is; so unless we go to God for it, we won’t get it. And going to God for it means prayer. So unless we pray, we will not love.”

I still struggle with prayer, and I know I won’t find a magic bullet. But Kreeft’s article has helped adjust my perspective a little bit.

Leave a Reply

